Settlers of Catan Birthday Cake

Prepare yourselves; I’m about to unleash my inner geek.

Ready?

Alex and I (and friends and family) love games of all varieties and have been playing Settlers of Catan for a few months now so I figured I should try to recreate it in delicious cake form.

What’s Settlers of Catan you ask?  In a word: awesome.  The picture below links back to the company website in case you happen to be inspired to play.

The base game is a set of hexagons with the resources: wood, brick, ore, wheat and sheep.  There’s also a desert tile which produces no resources.  There’s a robber (the little gray statue) which steals your resources and the number tiles represent the numbers on the dice.   Each player has a coloured set of settlements, cities and roads that you use to try to strategically gain the most “victory points”.

Anyway here’s the cake,  not quite large enough to be playable but I had to deter the big kids from playing with their food somehow:

The cake flavour this time is another orange sour cream cake, but with the addition of carrots. It’s delicious, even my vegetable-fearing father (aka my personal baked goods guinea pig) had three and a half pieces of the “trial” cake I made last weekend. Recipe!  

2 thoughts on “Settlers of Catan Birthday Cake

  1. I’ve been watching this cake in progress and the ideas my daughter comes up with are simply amazing. She can visualize most anything and I love seeing her thoughts unfold. Truly wonderful, Rachel.

  2. Pingback: Geek Cake Friday: Top 10 Settlers of Catan Cakes | Kitchen Overlord

Leave a comment